🔴Quinton de Kock’s direct hit gives South Africa much-needed breakthrough

IND 118/4 (15 Overs)

Jansen replaces Nortje

IND 108/4 (14 Overs)

13.3: De Kock picks up an attempted flick off the legs from Kohli, swooping and shying at the far end! The ball beats Axar.

Rabada comes back

IND 98/3 (13 Overs)

Nortje replaces Jansen

IND 93/3 (12 Overs)

Shamsi continues

IND 82/3 (11 Overs)

Jansen comes back

IND 75/3 (10 Overs)

Tabraiz Shamsi into the attack

IND 68/3 (9 Overs)

Maharaj replaces Nortje

IND 59/3 (8 Overs)

Markram continues

IND 49/3 (7 Overs)

Anrich Nortje comes into the attack

IND 45/3 (6 Overs)

Aiden Markram comes into the attack

IND 39/3 (5 Overs)

4.3: Rabada joins the party, dismisses Suryakumar Yadav. He steps across to a back-of-a-length ball angled in towards the stumps and whips it away, but close enough to fine leg where Klaasen moves to his left and take a well-judged catch.

Rabada continues

IND 32/2 (4 Overs)

Maharaj continues

IND 26/2 (3 Overs)

Kagiso Rabada comes into the attack

IND 23/2 (2 Overs)

1.6: Maharaj strikes again as Rishabh Pant perishes. A fuller delivery, Pant goes for the sweep but only manages a top edge of the toe end, skying the ball straight to de Kock behind the stumps.

1.4: Maharaj removes Rohit! Floated up slower delivery and he stretches out to sweep but ends up hitting it in the air to the left of square leg, where Heinrich Klaasen takes a good, low diving catch two-handed.

Keshav Maharaj bowls from the other end.

IND 15/0 (1 Over)

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli come out to open the innings for India. Marco Jansen bowls the first over.


BRIDGETOWN: India have won the toss and opted to bat first against South Africa in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 final here at Kensington Oval on Saturday.


Both teams are unchanged for the T20 World Cup 2024 Final.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Speaking at the toss, Indian captain Rohit Sharma stated he asked his team to stay calm while acknowledging South Africa’s dominant performance in the tournament.

“It’s just about understanding the individual role, keep calm, and play like it’s an international match against a top team. South Africa have played really good cricket in this tournament, we have played really good cricket too, two quality teams,” said Sharma.

Meanwhile, South Africa’s captain Aiden Markram shared that he would have chosen to bat on this pitch. He further stated that his side would be aiming to be at their best and play without any pressure.

“At times probably were not at our best, but we’ve found a way to win. Today we’re striving for that perfect game, even if perfect is not attainable. It’s a fantastic opportunity, no pressure for us, we’ve never been in a final. You can’t win a trophy if you aren’t in the final,” said Markram.


India and South Africa have faced each other 26 times in T20 Internationals with the formers having a slight edge in the head-to-head record.

Matches 26, India 14, South Africa 11, NR 1


Both finalists boast a perfect record in the ongoing tournament as they are unbeaten in the tournament.

South Africa defeated Afghanistan by nine wickets in a one-sided affair in the first semi-final in Trinidad, whereas, India edged past defending champions England in the second semi-final in Guyana to book their spot in the final.

India: W, W, W, W, W (most recent first)

South Africa: W, W, W, W, W

Leave a Comment